Random Questionnaire of Randomness

So I’ll be honest.  This week I had trouble thinking up anything substantive to talk about (I know elections were this week, but I figured you’ve all been inundated with ads and mail long enough that you really didn’t need me adding to the mix).  That being the case, I decided to play a little game.

My mom recently gave me this book full of questions as a way to try to help spark ideas for this blog.  I’ve flipped through it somewhat, and while there are a lot of questions, I don’t really feel like they generate the kind of contemplation I really want (in all fairness I’ve only read like ten or so of the questions so far, so for all I know the deep ones are in there somewhere).  In that case, I came up with an idea.  I opened a random number generator that I found online, and I used it to generate five random numbers for me.  Get where this is going yet?  My idea is to take these numbers, look up the questions in the book, and then answer them in any way I please, whether seriously or not.

Although with me it will most likely be the latter.

Here are the numbers I generated: 19, 196, 100, 108, and 59.  Let’s look them up and see what we get.

 

19. You have the chance to meet someone with whom you can have the most satisfying love imaginable-the stuff of dreams.  Sadly, you know that in six months the person will die.  Knowing the pain that would follow, would you still want to meet the person and fall in love?  What if you knew your lover would not die, but instead would betray you?

…This is a legitimate question in this book?  Oh for crying out loud…well I chose this.  Here goes nothing.

Better to have loved and lost right?  I guess I would have to say I would take the offer because as human beings, we cannot fathom how our lives would be different without that special someone (barring visiting a parallel universe of course).  It’s one of those things where I would rather see the person I would become after that experience rather than dodging it for fear of breaking under the weight of loss.

Now if this person betrayed me?  I’d still do it.  Because then I could go on a blood-soaked quest for REVENGE, involving lots of fast cars, explosions, women, explosions, guns, explosions, explosions…you get the idea.  I think Michael Bay would be a good choice to direct my biography in that case.

But wait a minute…I know this person will die in six months…and they will betray me….so does that mean I planned everything out from the beginning?  I planned to be betrayed so that I could embark on this bloody CGI revenge fantasy?

Mother of god…I’m a damn genius!

I like it.

 

196. You have arranged an evening with a friend, but on the day preceding your date a special opportunity arises to do something much more exciting.  How would you handle the situation?

What…what are you saying there book?  Are you saying that my friends are boring?  HUH?!  IS THAT IT?!  YOU KNOW WHAT, SCREW YOU BOOK!

Obviously I would bring them along to this “much more exciting” event.  Hey, it didn’t set any criteria for the answer.  I do what I want!

 

100. What do you strive for most in your life: accomplishment, security, love, power, excitement, knowledge, or something else?

Now there’s a question with some actual weight behind it.  It’s hard to put it into one single word honestly.  What I strive for most in my life is being able to dedicate my career to something I really believe in, something I’m passionate about.  That thing is, namely, writing.  My dream job would be to write science-fiction, to be able to write what I want, how I want.  I would love to be able to entertain and fascinate people with stories about fictional worlds and fictional people and fictional things.  I just want to write, plain and simple.

I guess if I had to put a word to it, it would probably be accomplishment, but of a more personal kind.  Most of the time when people talk about accomplishment they talk about earning lots of money or being financially stable or climbing the ladder at whatever company they work at.  For me, I would be happy writing, rich or poor.  Money is secondary to passion.

 

108. You are invited to a party that will be attended by many fascinating people you’ve never met.  Would you want to go if you had to go by yourself?

Oh for…you surprised me with how deep that last question was and then you throw this at me.

First off, I have to question what you mean exactly by “fascinating”.  Some people find serial killers “fascinating”.  Are you implying that if I go to this party, I’ll meet Hannibal Lecter?  Sounds good to me.  I don’t see how this could POSSIBLY GO WRONG.

Next thing you know this party will be at a secluded mansion in the middle of the woods with no electricity.  Because it turns out in the end that all the guests…ARE ME.

Cue dramatic chord, roll credits.

“We give this movie five stars, it’s the new Citizen Kane of our time!” – National Geographic

 

59. By controlling medical research funds, you are in the position to guarantee that a cure will be found in 15 years for any disease you choose.  Unfortunately, no progress on any others would be made during that period.  Would you target one disease?

Okay now these questions are just getting silly.  “You will be in a position to guarantee that a cure will be found in 15 years for any disease you choose”.  Then “would you target one disease?”  I thought I was ONLY able to target one disease.  I thought that was the whole point.  You JUST said TWO SENTENCES ago that I would be able to choose any one disease.

CONSISTENCY, DO YOU SPEAK IT?!

Can I choose politicians as my answer for this one?  Because I really really REALLY want to choose politicians (and here I was saying I wasn’t going to get political…so much for that).

Also, how would I control medical research funds?  That seems like I’d have to have an awful lot of power for something like that.  If anything, I would just funnel that money into my blood-soaked quest for revenge against my betrayer from the first question.  I’m just kidding.

Maybe…

Probably not.

But really I am.

Or am I?

 

Well I hope you enjoyed…whatever this was.  I just wanted to try something a little different this week (and yes, I am going with that excuse).  Hopefully you enjoyed it.  Maybe you didn’t.  WHO KNOWS?!  That’s the mystery of life!

Let me know what you thought in the comments.  Let me know if you want me to do this again.  Let me know if you think I should stop being stupid.  I probably won’t even listen!

But seriously, I value your opinions.  In any case, that’s all I have for this week.  Tune in next Wednesday for another post that’ll probably be more serious than this one (but it might not be!).  As always, have a wonderful week everybody.

2 thoughts on “Random Questionnaire of Randomness

  1. Pingback: One Year: A Retrospective | Rumination on the Lake

  2. Pingback: Random Questionnaire Finale: The Explosive Conclusion | Rumination on the Lake

Leave a Reply

